Swimming breaks 21 school records over weekend

Spraul sets OAC record, men's coaches named Staff of the Year

February 16, 2013

AKRON – Following three days of Ohio Athletic Conference championship swimming, the Wilmington College teams posted historic performances.

“It’s exciting,” said head coach Trip Breen. “We worked hard and were able to enjoy the fruits of our labor. To break 21 records in three days is exciting.”

As a team, they broke 21 school records – including seven on Saturday. The men’s team finished fourth, their highest finish ever in the conference swimming championships. On the women’s side, Wilmington finished in fifth place.

For their performance, the men’s coaching staff earned the 2013 OAC Men’s Coaching Staff of the Year.
“(Assistant coach) Paula (Stewart) does a great job with the team in the weight room,” said Breen. “Both Paula and (graduate assistant) Kenny (Holter) are assets to the program. It’s not just about swimming. It’s about a total training program. Paula’s dry land program was invaluable.”

Junior Mikey Spraul (Cincinnati, OH/Princeton) broke the school and OAC record in the 200 backstroke, twice. After setting the 200 mark with a time of 1:53.72 during the morning prelims, Spraul trimmed the record to 1:53.58 in the finals. Then, he added to his record haul by establishing a new 100 freestyle mark of 47.54, while leading off the men’s 400 yard relay. The team of Spraul, Alex Fout (Westerville, OH/Westerville), David Hawk (Edison, OH/Mount Gilead) and Mason Harris (Westerville, OH/Central) swam their way to a new school record in that event.

Freshman Curtis Richards (Ayersville, OH/Ayersville) held the school record for the 1,000 yard swim momentarily before Harris established a new mark with his swim during the mile. Harris continued the torrid pace to complete setting a new school record in the mile with a time of 16:33.11. He earned all-conference recognition for his third place finish.

Senior Julie Creech (Dayton, OH/Centerville) finished third in the 200 meter butterfly to earn all-conference honors.