Rupert receives Athletic Director of the Year Award

Wilmington AD to receive regional honor at national convention

June 25, 2012

Terry Rupert has been named a recipient of the Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year Award.

Terry Rupert has been named a recipient of the Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year Award.

DALLAS — Wilmington College Vice President of Athletics Administration/Director of Athletics Terry Rupert is one of 29 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award announced today The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 29 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today. 

There are four geographic regions - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into seven categories - Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA); Division I (formerly Division I-AAA); Division II; Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges, along with one International winner. One winner was selected in each of the eight categories, for a total of 29 honorees. Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, June 27 at NACDA's 47th Annual Convention at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas.

“In the world of DIII AD's this is the highest honor one can receive. I am very humbled and honored to receive this. It is a reflection of the great people that I get to work with every day,” Rupert said.

NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione explained the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Before its inception, our Honors and Awards Committee recognized a need for an award such as the AD of the Year," said Vecchione, who is finishing his first year at the helm of NACDA. "The program brings to light the remarkable jobs done by athletics directors across the country. These 29 outstanding winners epitomize that, providing us with a group of exemplary athletics directors who excel on campus and in their communities."

Winners of the 2011-12 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are:
FBS/NE: Mike O'Brien, University of Toledo
FBS/SE: Richard Giannini, University of Southern Mississippi
FBS/C: Jim Phillips, Northwestern University
FBS/W: Ian McCaw, Baylor University
FCS/NE: Jim Fiore, Stony Brook University
FCS/SE: Jeff Barber, Liberty University
FCS/C: Gene Taylor, North Dakota State University
FCS/W: Peter Fields, Montana State University
Division I/NE: Mike Bobinski, Xavier University
Division I/SE: Norwood Teague, Virginia Commonwealth University
Division I/ C: Mike Carter, Oral Roberts University
Division I/W: Peg Bradley-Doppes, University of Denver
Division II/NE: Bill Goldring, Ashland University
Division II/SE: Fran Reidy, Saint Leo University
Division II/C: Tom Rubbelke, Concordia University St. Paul
Division II/W: Jared Mosley, Abilene Christian University
Division III/NE: James Nelson, Suffolk University
Division III/SE: William Klika, Jr., Fairleigh Dickinson University, College at Florham
Division III/C: Terry Rupert, Wilmington College
Division III/W: Jeff Martinez, University of Redlands
JC/CC/NE: Gary Broadhurst, Mohawk Valley Community College
JC/CC/SE: Ken Krsolovic, Harford Community College
JC/CC/C: Brenda Hampton, Iowa Western Community College
JC/CC/W: Tim Drain, Tyler Junior College
NAIA/NE: George Sliman, Carlow University
NAIA/SE: Steven Ridder, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
NAIA/C: Ira Zeff, Nebraska Wesleyan University
NAIA/W: Bruce Parker, Carroll College
International: Gord Grace, University of Windsor

All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments.

Additionally, each AD's institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current athletics director.

Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners. Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA's Web site at

Under Armour (NYSE: UA): is a leading developer, marketer, and distributor of branded performance apparel, footwear, and accessories. The brand's moisture-wicking synthetic fabrications are engineered in many different designs and styles for wear in nearly every climate to provide a performance alternative to traditional natural fiber products. The Company's products are sold worldwide and worn by athletes at all levels, from youth to professional, on playing fields around the globe.

The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Maryland, with European headquarters in Amsterdam's Olympic Stadium, and additional offices in Denver, Hong Kong, Toronto, and Guangzhou, China. For further information, please visit the Company's Web site at

Now in its 47th year, NACDA is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 12 professional associations, including six for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics directors and two foundations. For more information on NACDA, visit