Ohio Northern claims 2012 OAC women's title

October 27, 2012

WILMINGTON – Ohio Northern runners place first and second helping lead the Polar Bears to the 2012 Ohio Athletic Conference women’s cross country meet. Four of five ONU runners qualified for All-OAC honors.

Mount Union had four runners in the top 15 to place second, followed by John Carroll, Baldwin-Wallace, Wilmington, Otterbein, Capital, Heidelberg, Muskingum and Marietta.

Ohio Northern senior Alison Steinbrunner won the race by nearly 42 seconds with a time of 22:12.2. Fellow ONU senior Lydia Weaver was second in 22:54.0, followed by Capital senior Emma McCarron (23:05.1), John Carroll sophomore Emily Mapes (23:11.1) and Otterbein senior Bekah Reese (23:26.4).

Junior Gabriella Kreuz (John Carroll), junior Caitlin Goggin (Mount Union), senior Shaina Kovatch (Baldwin-Wallace) and sophomore Jenna Parlette (Wilmington) earned first-team All-OAC honors.

The All-OAC second team members are sophomore Brooke Benner (Mount Union), freshman Stacy Cameron (Mount Union), senior Bobbi Custer (Heidelberg), sophomore Catie Huber (Ohio Northern), sophomore Jessi Knoll (Capital), junior Rachel Smith (Mount Union), freshman Aya Tomozawa (Ohio Northern), junior Caroline Kapela (John Carroll), and Lauren McGaughey (Baldwin-Wallace).